Storm Drain Stenciling  
Groups of students and Boy Scouts have stenciled "No Dumping, Drains to Lake" logo to identify the storm drains in SCS and making people aware that they drain to the lake.

Rain Barrels -- Purchase here  ORDER FORM
These recycled 55-gallon olive barrels have been converted into rain barrels. Pay at the cashier at SCS City Hall and take your paid receipt to DPW at 19700 Pleasant Ave, SCS. Learn more about the advantages of a rain barrel at your home in our Rain Barrel Flyer.

Wood Duck Bird House Project
One of our long term projects....

Nautical Coast Clean-Up --  Sunday, 19 May 2024    2017 VIDEO
29th annual clean-up where hundreds of volunteers and homeowners come together in May to clean up the beaches and coastline in St. Clair Shores. Register now!

Fishing Line / Monofilament Recycling Program
Started in 2009 these containers, near the prime fishing spots in St. Clair Shores, are where fishermen can dispose of their tangled and used fishing line in a safe manner for all wildlife.

I-94 Ramps Only Clean-Up  -- 2024:   June 8, July 13, Aug 10, Sep 14, 
Started in 2004, volunteers on the 2nd Saturday 10am to 12 noon help clean the 9-12 Mile entrances to St. Clair Shores and help prevent debris from entering the storm drains.

Several dedicated volunteers have joined us throughout the years, participating in numerous projects and helping the environment and, in particular, Lake St. Clair.


We have a simple mission:  The St. Clair Shores Waterfront Environmental Committee commits to the conservation, protection, safe use, and enjoyment of Lake St. Clair for our current and future generations.

Our Annual Meeting occurs every January, where we discuss our accomplishments, activities in the upcoming year, important issues, and award three (3) $500 scholarships to very deserving students. Link to 2018 presentation 2016 packet

What We’re Doing

Company Profile

2023 St. Clair Shores Waterfront Environmental Committee Officers

Founded: 1995

Chair: Heidi McInnes

Co-Chair:  Mark Balon

Chair Emeritus:  Joe St. John

Vice Chair:  Cori Champange

Treasurer:  Erin Stahl

Secretary:  Sharon Khouri